Women Nobel Laureates in Literature

40 women, in total, have been awarded the Nobel Prize between 1901 and 2009. The first Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded in 1901, though it was 1909 before a woman received the prize in this category.

The very first Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded in 1901 to the French poet and philosopher Sully Prudhomme, who in his poetry showed the “rare combination of the qualities of both heart and intellect”. Over the years, the Nobel Prize in Literature has distinguished the works of authors from many different languages and cultural backgrounds. The prize has been awarded to unknown masters as well as authors acclaimed worldwide (http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/).

Twelve women received their Nobel Prize in the Literature category.

1909 ~ Selma Lagerlöf
1926 ~ Grazia Deledda
1928 ~ Sigrid Undset
1938 ~ Pearl Buck
1945 ~ Gabriela Mistral
1966 ~ Nelly Sachs
1991 ~ Nadine Gordimer
1993 ~ Toni Morrison
1996 ~ Wislawa Szymborska
2004 ~ Elfriede Jelinek
2007 ~ Doris Lessing
2009 ~ Herta Müller
Facebook Twitter Email